I’m a Wanderer

Finished my Wanderlust mitts! And boy did they wander. Cast on in Michigan during our 10 day stay with Brad’s family, worked on on the 4 day road trip to Florida and back, and finally finished here Ohio. (I have to admit, the 60 degree weather in Florida did not inspire me to do a lot of work on wintery mitts!)

mitts4mitts3mitts2amitts1a

They’re great, thick and squishy, and go all the way up to my elbows. They also knit pretty fast, considering how much yarn is in them. This is Knit Picks Wool of the Andes in Rooibos Heather, a ball of yarn for each mitt. I ended up wearing the right mitt on my left hand, and the left mitt on my right hand, because that put the seam down the middle of my palm instead of the back of my hand.

(knit notes: provisional cast on and 3-needles bind off give this mitt a nearly invisible seam line, and in my opinion is much preferred to picking up 86 stitches for the bind off (as suggested in pattern) or to mattress stitching about 14″ on each mitt.)

Leave a Reply

